NRM’s Salim Uhuru beats odds to win Kampala Central Mayoral race

Posted: 2021-01-26T08:45:30Z
NRM’s Salim Uhuru beats odds to win Kampala Central Mayoral race

The National Resistance Movement candidate and businessman Salim Saad Uhuru has beaten odds to win the Kampala Central Mayoral race, following a NUP wave that swept through the city in the recently concluded General elections.

Several candidates from the NRM lost Parliamentary and City council seats to their counterparts from the National Unity Platform, NUP. Many city voters only chose to vote ‘the Umbrella’ which is NUP’s official symbol. 

Many voters did not even care to look at images of the candidates they were voting as long as they saw an umbrella. However, during Monday polls for LC3 councilors and Divisional mayors Uhuru beat all competition to claim the Kampala central seat with 13,114.

He beat Semugoma Kigozi of NUP who came second with 10,654, Sserunjogi Charles of DP came in 3rd position with 5,316 votes, Mugisa Patrick (Independent) 4th with 2,095, FDC’s Semaganda Isah came 5th with 531 votes while Kavuma Isaya (Independent) came last with 166.

In Nakawa, the National Unity Platform candidate Paul Mugambe won with 32,754 votes beating NRM’s Buruhani Byaruhanga who polled 20,671. Other candidates in the race were; Muwonge Daniel (FDC) 3,301 votes, Namata Florence (Independent) 2,179, Mwagale Martin (Independent) 1, 385 while JEEMA’s Katende Muhammad came last with 1,278.
In Lubaga Division, incumbent and FDC Party candidate Joyce Nabossa Ssebugwawo lost to the NUP candidate Mberaze Mawula Zacchy. 

Mawula polled 37,652 votes compared to Ssebugwawo’s 25,718. Other candidates in the race were; NRM’s Mahad Kaweesa who polled 8,075, Mayanja Ssemwogerere Ashraf (Independent) 2,390 and DP’s Kigonya Angela Namyalo who came last with 1,476 votes. 

Makindye Division was also taken by NUP’s famous Ali Kasirye Nganda Mulyanyama who polled 56,743 votes beating his closest rival Muhumuza Bob Robert from the NRM who polled 13,105. 

Other candidates were Kalungi Moses Kirumira (DP) 4,393 while FDC’s Sabuka Tigatoola David came last with 1,332.

In Kawempe Division, NUP’s Sserunjogi Emmanuel won with 44,130, NRM’s Juma Sekyanzi came second with 8,043, DP’s Lukwago Ramadhan came third with 7,757 while FDC’s Mutazindwa Muhammad came last with 5,934.

Only Kampala Central went to NRM, while the other Divisions were all won by the National Unity Platform candidates, formally sealing Kampala as the NUP city.