How New Districts voted in NRM Primaries

Celebrations are ongoing in the new district of Bunyangabu after Peace Mutuuzo won the NRM party card for the District Woman MP seat

How New Districts voted in NRM Primaries
Story by Howwe Editor \

Celebrations are ongoing in the new district of Bunyangabu after Peace Mutuuzo, the State Minister for Gender, Labour and Social Development has won the National Resistance Movement- NRM party card for the District Woman MP seat.

The minister garnered a whooping 17,127 against her closest rival Rosemary Byabasaija's 9,082 votes and Elizabeth Nikuze 's 4,896 votes. The NRM Electoral Commission Chairman, Dr. Odoi Tanga declared Mutuuzo elected this morning at 3:30am at Kibiito Secondary School.  

Meanwhile, James Ategeka is winner for the LC V Chairperson's ticket. Ategeka polled 18,367 votes beating the Interim Bunyangabu District LC V Chairman, Peter Musinguzi who garnered just 11,976 votes. Odoi Tanga was forced to nullify results from Kiboota parish in Katebwa Sub County after it was discovered that the declaration of results form was tempered with. 

The elections were characterized by low turn-up of voters and missing names of voters on the register. Godfrey Mbahulira, the Bunyangabu district NRM registrar, said that more than 600 party members didn't cast their votes because their names were not on the register. He said that some members refused to take part in the voter's register update exercise.

In the new Rukiga district, Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi is the winner of the NRM party ticket for woman MP seat. The Rukiga District NRM party registrar, Maurice Mugenga Keitaba declared Kamusiime winner at exactly 03:48am this morning Rukiga District main hall.

She garnered 12,390 votes (39.5%) beating her closest rival, Victoria Abigail Atukunda who managed 10,868 votes (34.5%). Pamela Kyomugisha Kyihumuro came third with 3, 384 votes (10.8%), followed by Maureen Kyarisiima 2,861(9.1%), Alice Marie Basobokwe came fifth with 806(2.6%) while Charity Tumubweine trailed the pack with 756 votes (2.4%).

Dr. Alexander Kampikahowon won the NRM ticket for the Rukiga district LC V chairperson's seat. He polled 15,551 votes (48.7%) beating his closest contender Denis Willy Nkwasiibwe who polled 11,479 votes (36.0%) followed by Jackson Asiimwe Rwamwehare with 4,375 votes (13.8%).

Declaring the poll results, Keitaba noted that the primaries were peaceful as they didn't register any chaos. In her victory speech, Kamusiime promised to advocate for the improvement of the agriculture and education sectors.

In Kyotera District,

Patrick Kintu Kisekulo has been declared the National Resistance Movement-NRM Party candidate for the district leadership race.

Kisekulo polled 14,653 votes defeating his two rivals Charles Lubega Zziridamu and Anthony Mugerwa. Zziridamu, who has been the interim District Chairman got 8,987 votes while Anthony Mugerwa, a teacher polled 4,794 votes.

Francis Tumukunde, an official of the NRM Electoral Commission declared Kintu Kisekulo as the official candidate to contest for Kyotera LCV seat. He will now face-off with Democratic Party candidate Tom Darlington Balloja and FDCs Godfrey Kahweru in the general election scheduled for next month.

The Electoral commission is expected to conduct nominations tomorrow and Friday for candidates that have been endorsed by the various political parties ahead of the elections slated for September 21.

Gals Betting: Get 10% Refund on All your Losses Click Here
Ugandan Shillings