Parliament Constitutes Committees as UPC Remains Undecided

Posted: 2016-07-13T16:50:52Z
Parliament Constitutes Committees as UPC Remains Undecided

Parliament has appointed Hon. Nabakooba Judith as the Chairperson Committee on Defence and Internal Affairs.

Nabakooba will be deputized by Hon. Mbogo Kezekia.

 Parliament this afternoon created different committees, after the deputy speaker Jacob Oulanya said the house could not continue operating without them.

Party chief whips read out Members they proposed for the different committees before the exercise begun.

Hon. Muhammad Nsereko was named the chairperson for Equal opportunities committee, Hon. Lugoloobi Amos will chair the Budget Committee, Hon. Jovah Kamateeka is the chairperson Human Rights committee, she will be deputized by MP Nalule Sofia.  

Hon. Sydar Bumba is the chairperson of the National economy committee, deputized by Hon. Bategaka, Hon. Ongaro Obote is the chairman for Rules privileges and discipline committee, deputized by Hon. Agaba Abbas.

Meanwhile, the opposition named Angelina Ossege as the chairperson Public Accounts committee deputized by Hon. Karuhanga, Okumu Reagan is the chairperson for Local Government accounts committee, Hon. Abdu Katuntu is chairperson of the Commission on state authorities and state Enterprises committee, Hon. Kaps Fungaroo is the chairperson of Government assurances committee deputized by Hon. Ssebagala,

UPDF has designated CDF Gen. Katumba Wamala as a member of the local government accounts committee, Dr Bukenya Michael to chair the Health committee deputized by MP Annie Logiel, Hon. Mutoni Rose is the Chairperson of committee of Foreign Affairs,  Fred Mwesigye is the chair of the presidential Affairs, deputized by MP Ameru Susan, Hon. Sabiti Denis to chair the committee on Physical Infrastructure, Hon. Nakayenze Connie takes on  the Education committee, deputized by MP Opolot Jacob, Hon. Komuhangi Margaret is chairperson for the Gender committee deputized by Hon. Atim Beatrice Anywar.

Government Chief Whip also named Hon. Oboth Jacob as Chairperson of the Committee on Legal & Parliamentary Affairs, Deputized by Hon. Rwakoojo Robinah.

Hon. Semujju Nganda was however surprised that the government chief whip appointed some opposition members to committees. Prof. Ogenga Latigo also asked members from UPC party to clarify whether they belong to the opposition or want to serve in alliance with the NRM government.

“Do members of UPC want to serve in alliance with the NRM or opposition, this needs to be cleared up.If UPC makes up its mind to serve in alliance with NRM, then all the Opposition designations are rendered invalid” wondered Prof. Latigo.

However, Hon. Abdu Katuntu said UPC party MPs cannot serve as both NRM and opposition. Semujju Nganda sent the house to laughter when he said; “I dont know which members of UPC I should whip as the Opposition chief whip and those on the NRM side.”