Ministers miss Swearing-in ceremony due to COVID-19

Posted: 2021-06-21T17:50:54Z
Ministers miss Swearing-in ceremony due to COVID-19

At least 17 newly appointed ministers were unable to take oath of office at Kololo Independence Grounds on Monday due to issues surrounding COVID-19.

According to reports, the ministers failed to appear because they contracted COVID-19 while others were contacts of victims and are in self-isolation. Those who are sick, are undergoing treatment while others have lost relatives among other reasons.

These include; the Minister for Presidency, Babirye Milly Babalanda and Attorney-General, Kiryowa Kiwanuka because of their recent contact with COVID-19 victims. The Minister of Public Service, Muruli Mukasa and Foreign Affairs State Minister in Charge of Regional Affairs, John Mulimba also did not swear in because even during the vetting by Parliament they were indisposed.

Dr. Monica Musenero the Minister Office of the President Serviced in charge of Science, Technology and Innovation lost a mother on Monday morning and the Minister of State designate for Luwero Triangle-Rwenzori Region) Alice Kaboyo whose appointment was rejected by the Appointments Committee because of her previous corruption scandal and subsequent conviction.

The others are; the First Deputy Prime Minister Rebecca Kadaga and Minister of East African Affairs, Hilary Onek, the Minister for Relief, Disaster Preparedness & Refugees, Maria Goretti Kitutu the Minister for Karamoja Affairs, Judith Nabakooba the Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development and Cheptoris Mangusho, the Minister of Water and Environment.       

Also, Fred Kyakulaga, the Minister of State for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (Agriculture), Huda Olero, the Minister of State for Defense and Veteran Affairs (Veteran Affairs), Evelyn Anite, the Minister of State for Finance, Planning and Economic Development (Privatization and Investment), Henry Okello Oryem, the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (International Affairs), Margaret Muhanga, the Minister of State for Health (Primary Health Care) and Victoria Rusoke, the Minister of State for Local Government missed swearing in.         

To access the swearing-in venue, one was required to present a COVID-19 negative result. The event attended by President Yoweri Museveni and First Lady Janet Museveni saw the swearing-in of Vice President Maj. Rtd. Jessica Alupo, Prime Minister and Leader of Government Business Robinah Nabbanja, Second Deputy Prime Minister Moses Ali and Third Deputy Prime Minister, Lukia Nakadama.