Voter Bribery allegations Spoil NRM CEC elections

Posted: 2020-08-21T07:37:44Z
Voter Bribery allegations Spoil NRM CEC elections

The State Minister for Lands Persis Namuganza says her opponent in the race for the National Resistance Movement [NRM] second National Vice-Chairperson who doubles as Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga bribed NEC members to vote her.

Results declared by the NRM Electoral Commission Chairman Dr Tanga Odoi on Friday morning indicate that Kadaga got 6,776 votes against Namuganza’s 3,882 votes. Both ladies hailing from Busoga region with one representing Kamuli district and the other Bukhono County in Namutumba district have fought a bitter campaign.

Even on polling day, Namuganza still accused Kadaga of being disloyal to NRM and its chairman President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni and added that on several occasions, Kadaga sided with the opposition in parliament to bring motions that cast the NRM in a bad light. 
She further accused Kadaga of bribing all voters. Meanwhile, Kadaga looked at Namuganza as a front of powerful people in the NRM who are unhappy with the way she steers parliament.

In other races, Deputy Speaker Jacob Oalanyah beat Col. Sam Engola after garnering 7,473 votes against Engola’s 1,665 votes to become the NRM vice chairman northern region. Other opponent, Timothy Okee Jokene got 895 votes while Dr Odongo Oledo managed only 277 votes.

In Western region, the State Minister for Housing Chris Baryomunsi is the vice-chairman after defeating the incumbent Maj. Gen. Matayo Kyaligonza with 5,947 votes against 2,550. Florence Kintu Tumwine came third with 1,875, followed by Muhangi Wilberforce with 1,255 votes, Boaz Kafuda fifth with 602 votes and Dr Diini Kisembo with 224 votes.

In Kampala, Katongole Singh Marwaha beat all odds and defeated the incumbent Amooti Godfrey Nyakana with 4,503 votes against 2,665 votes. Salim Uhuru came third with 2,466 votes. In Karamoja, the incumbent Simon Peter Aleper retained his seat after defeating his only challenger Lokor Jimmy with 8,143 against 2,220.

Godfrey Kiwanda Ssuubi, the State Minister for Tourism is also the vice chairman Buganda region after defeating his closest challenger Moses Karangwa Kalisa. Kiwanda got 4,749 votes against Karangwa’s 3,701. Other contestants in the race were Kiganda Twaha Ssonko who got 1,048 votes, Mayengo Moses who got 127 votes and Magaro John 675.

Vice-chairperson eastern was won by the incumbent, Capt. Mike Mukula who got 5,818 votes against his closest rival Sanjay Tana who had 4,162 votes. The vote is however still contested.