Cabinet approves 7 Board Members of Uganda Airlines

Posted: 2019-05-22T10:14:37Z
Cabinet approves 7 Board Members of Uganda Airlines

Seven names have been approved by cabinet and appointed the board of directors for Uganda National Airlines Company Limited. 

Ahabwe Godfrey Pereza former MP for Rubanda East constituency and Minister of State for Local Government was appointed and approved to be chairman of the seven directors. 

Cabinet also approved Transport economist, Benon Kajuna to represent Ministry of works and Transport and Godfrey Ssemugooma who will represent Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development. 

Other Board members include; the two female nominees are from private sector, Catherine Asinde Poran and Rehema N. Mutazindwa, while Charles Hamya and Stephene Aziku Zua will also be members.

Ruth Nankabirwa the Government Chief Whip, told the press that the nominees were selected on the basis of experience and ability to oversee the revival of the national airline. 

Hon. Nankabirewa praised the board chairman Ahabwe as having the needed qualifications of a chairperson, following his tenure in parliament, in the executive as well as in the academia.      

She added that cabinet is confident that the proposed board will ensure that the national airline becomes a viable entity as projected in the business plan.

The board is expected to appear before the parliamentary appointments committee for approval.