Five candidates to tussle it out for Busia LCV Chairman Seat

Posted: 2018-11-08T09:18:37Z
Five candidates to tussle it out for Busia LCV Chairman Seat

Five candidates were on Wednesday nominated to replace Adea Ouma as Busia district LC V chairperson following nullification of his election.  

In May this year, three Justices of the Court of Appeal threw Ouma out of the seat after evidence was presented that he had been banned from holding public office having been convicted of corruption 6 years ago.

Now,  NRM candidate, also acting Busia LC V Chairperson Boniface Paul Oguttu, DP’s Deogracious Njoki, and Chrispus  Bwire, Tony Ojambo as well as Godfrey Wandera, all independents, have been nominated to vie for the seat.

The exercise which commenced on Tuesday and lasted two days took place at the district electoral commission offices and Umar Kiyingi, the Busia District Returning Officer, says it was peaceful.

The National Resistance Movement party candidate Boniface Paul Oguttu promised to build on the programs he has been implementing as acting Busia LC V chairperson while his Democratic Party counterpart Deogracious Njoki, welcomed his nomination, saying he is a tested and experienced leader. He promised to deliver to the voter's expectations should they vote him into office. 

Electoral Commission has set November 28th, 2018 as the date for the by elections of the LC V Chairperson and 15 sub-county councilors. 

As of August 5th 2018 Busia had 234 polling stations and 151,798 voters. According to EC chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama, the election will cost about 790 million shillings.