Minister Elioda, Ex-Minister Akaki, Rwaburindole, win NRM Parliamentary primaries

Posted: 2018-06-05T09:18:04Z
Minister Elioda, Ex-Minister Akaki, Rwaburindole, win NRM Parliamentary primaries

Dr Elioda Tumwesigye, the Science and Technology Minister has successfully challenged four other candidates and emerged winner of the Sheema Municipality National Resistance Movement-NRM Party elections.

Tumwesigye, the sitting sitting Sheema north constituency MP crossed to the Municipality, where he stood and polled 9,224 votes in an election held on Monday, June 4th 2018The minister beat his closest challenger Raymond Kamugisha who polled 4,514 votes, Joseph Mwebesa with 2,932 votes, Jonas Tumwine with  2,604 votes and David Kamukama 1,569 votes. The race attracted eight candidates. 

Meanwhile in Apac, Jovino Akaki Ayumu the former State Minister for Wildlife, Tourism and Antiquities emerged victor to hold the NRM flag in the upcoming municipality MP elections.

Robert Oyuru Eper, the district NRM party registrar announced Akaki winner after he polled a total of 3,036 votes against 1,827 votes that were polled by his only rival Patrick Okello Chono.  Meanwhile in Ibanda Municipality, Rwaburindole Tarsis Bishanga was declared NRM flag bearer by the party EC Chairperson Dr. Odoi Tanga at 8:30am this morning.

Odoi declared Rwabulindole winner after he polled 6,621 votes, beating his closest winner, Deusdedit Mulinde who polled 6,255 votes. The race attracted 11 candidates. The other candidate were; Agaba Peter 4,394, Mwine Bakamuhara 1,449, Igundura Ignie 1,439 among others.

The Ibanda elections were dramatic and police fired teargas to disperse locals who were being rowdy after wrong results from one of the areas were read. The results were not announced until this morning.

The newly elected party flag bearer is a former FDC supporter.