President Museveni Presides over Swearing in of new Justices

Posted: 2018-03-24T07:12:42Z
President Museveni Presides over Swearing in of new Justices

President Yoweri Museveni has this afternoon presided over the swearing in of new justices of Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and judges of High Court at State House Entebbe.

The ceremony comes after President appointed 2 justices of court of Appeal, 4 justices of court of appeal and 10 judges of high court.

These were all vetted by parliament and successfully appointed.

For the Supreme Court, Justices Paul K Mugamba, and Richard Butera were announced. While, Hon. Justices Hon. Steven Musota, Christopher Izama Madrama, Lady Justice Percy Tuhaise go to court of appeal.

Apart from justice Ezekiel K Muhanguzi who had retired, all justices had taken oaths of allegiance and judicial functions. He was sworn in today before the President as Justice of Court of Appeal.

The president congratulated the Justices and asked them to bring to office, the intention of upholding the trust that the population has in them and the judiciary in general.

The president further appealed to the new justices, to desist from corrupt tendencies and be fair. He was not pleased, that opposition members who were arrested during campaigns in Jinja last week, were granted bail. He lamented;

“The other day we were discussing granting of bail. People were arrested for threatening to cause violence so as to scare people away from voting. It is not correct to bail them out before elections are done, because they will continue scaring the people. Some judgments need you to look at substance rather procedure” the president noted.

The event was also attended by Chief Justice Bart Magunda Katureebe, first Prime Minister Gen. Moses Ali, Minister of Justice and constitution Gen. Kahinda Otafiire among other dignitaries.

The High Court judges who were sworn in today are; Gadenya Paul Wolimbwa, Alex Makayi Ajiji, Lady Justice Cornelia Kakooza Sabiti, Taddeo Asiimwe, Lady Justice Olive Kazarwe Mukwaya, Lady Justice Jane Frances Abodo, Sekaana Musa, Lady Justice Joyce Kavuma, Emanuel Baguma and Patrick Wabwiire.