NRM warns Defiant party MPS; Don’t ever Betray us again

Posted: 2017-12-22T12:52:48Z
NRM warns Defiant party MPS; Don’t ever Betray us again

The ruling National Resistance Movement-NRM party leadership has expressed disappointment in its legislators who voted against the removal of the presidential age limit.

The MPs stood their ground and said they don't regret their position. There was at least 22 of the 92 legislators who voted against the amendment belong to the ruling NRM party.
These are; Hellen Kahunde, Connie Nakayenze Galiwango, Norah Bigirwa, Anthony Ssemuli, Suzan Amero, Loy Katali and Henry Maurice Kibalya.
However, the Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa, has warned that such a scenario should not have happened and never should it happen again.
An angry Nankabirwa  said a member who went through primaries and had party leaders campaign for them, voting for the other side is a betrayal.

 She was disappointed that the legislators had gone against the party position. She explained that the members have failed to understand how the multi-party dispensation works and are working against the party.

However, some of the affected legislators insist they don't regret their decision. Norah Bigirwa Nyendwoha, the Bulisa District Woman Member of parliament, says she doesn't regret voting no to the bill.
According to Nyendwoha, her voters opposed the bill when she went to consult them. "One reason that made me contest was because the component of true representation in parliament was lucking, i left very important things. I don't see any harm in telling the truth, they asked as to go and consult, and what i disseminated was the result i got, we should not say contrary," Bigirwa said."