Akello Bounces back to Represent Kaabong Women in Parliament

Posted: 2017-08-29T06:29:38Z
Akello Bounces back to Represent Kaabong Women in Parliament

Rose Lilly Akello has emerged winner in the by-election held on Monday to choose Woman Member of Parliament for Kaabong.

Akello beat Christine Tubo Nakwang, whose victory in 2016 was nullified by court over election malpractices.

Akello, the ruling NRM party ticket holder, polled a total of 21,814 votes against Tubo's 21,558 votes, while Judith Adiaka Nalibe of the opposition FDC party trailed with 593 votes.

The Kaabong district returning officer, Sarah Iyolu, declared Akello winner of the by-election a few minutes past 2:00am amid enormous crowds at the Magistrates Hall in Kaabong town council. She notes that the election was generally peaceful with more than 80 percent voter turn up.

A total of 47,822 voters cast their votes out of 59,082 registered voters in 19 Sub Counties of Kaabong district.  A total of 3,857 votes were invalid.

None of the candidates was present at the tally centre except their agents and party leadership. Akello's results were received by the NRM party electoral commission chairman, Dr. Tanga Odoi.

The Kaabong parliamentary seat fell vacant after the Court of Appeal upheld the ruling of the high court nullifying the election of Christine Nakwang Tubo who initially contested as the NRM party candidate in the 2016 general election. 

Akello represented Kaabong in Parliament in the 9th Parliament before losing the seat to Tubo in February 2016.