Ghanian Singer Efya Beats Sheebah to Win Best African Female Artist NEA Award

Posted: 2016-09-07T08:04:08Z
Ghanian Singer Efya Beats Sheebah to Win Best African Female Artist NEA Award

Sheebah Karungi was nominated among Africa's finest female artists for the prestigious Best African Female Artist of the year Nigerian Entertainment Awards (NEA) award ... but was beaten by Ghanian pop/soul singer Efya -- known for songs like 'Forgetting Me', 'One of Your Own ft. Bisa Kdei', 'Jorley' and many others including 'Abofra' which features her compatriot and fellow nominee -- for the same award -- MzVee.

The awards category featured Vannessa Mdee (Tanzania), Efya (Ghana), Lira (SA), Mz Vee (Ghana), Sheebah Karungi (Uganda), Adiouza (SN), Victoria Kimani (Kenya) and Knowless Butera (Rwanda).

The African Best Female Award: Efya emerged the winner beating singers Sheebah, MzVee, Vanessa Mdee, Lira and Butera Knowless

Full List of the NEA Winners


2016 Nigeria Entertainment Awards Winners

Music Categories

Album of the Year: Eyan Mayweather (Olamide)
Hottest Single of the Year: Mama (Kiss Daniel)
Best Song: Pick Up (Adekunle Gold)
AfroPop Artist of the Year: Kiss Daniel
Rap Act of the Year: Olamide
Best RnB Artist of the Year: Seyi Shay
Dancehall Artist: Ketchup
Best Collabo of the Year: My Woman, My Everything - Patoranking ft Wande Coal
Best Live Performance: 2Baba
Best Music Video of the Year (Director): Unlimited LA (Emergency, Dbanj)
Best New Act to Watch: Adekunle Gold
Alternative Artist: Aramide
Indigenous Artist of the Year: Flavour
Diaspora Artist of the Year: Ayojay
Gospel Artist of the Year: Frank Edward
Most Promising Act to Watch: Mr. Eazi
Music Producer of the Year: Masterkraft
African Male Artist of the Year (Non Nigerian): Shatta Wale
African Female Artist of the Year (Non Nigerian): Efya


Female Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Mystelle
Male Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Gavpop
Diaspora Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Tunez (NYC)
Africa Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Slick Stuat & Roja (UG)
Disc Jockey Collabo of the Year: DJ Kaywise ft Oritsefemi
Entertainment Executive of the Year: Don Jazzy
OAP of the Year: Tisan (Raypower
TV Presenter: Daala
Online Comedy Act: Emmanuella
Fashion Model: Mayowa Nicholas
Comedy Act of the Year: Basketmouth


Best Actor: Joseph Benjamin (Rebecca)
Best Actress: Fathia Balogun (Ishanna)
Supporting Actor: Sambasa Nzeribe
Supporting Actress: Osas Ajibade
Best Actor (Non Nigerian / Africa): Abraham Attah
Best Actress (Non Nigerian / Africa): Nuong Faalong (Freetown)
Film Director of the Year: Frankie Ogar (Soldiers Story)
Best Picture: Ishanna
Film of the Year (Producer, Non Nigerian / Africa): Beast of No Nation
Actor - TV: Folarin Falana (Jenifa's Diary)
Actress - TV: Abimbola Craig (Skinny Girl)
TV Show of the Year: Skinny Girl in Transit
Short Film - Blood Taxi (Folasakin Iwajomo)